The ThousandEyes platform retains user data for a finite amount of time. This article covers the data retention periods in different features of the ThousandEyes platform.
Test data in the Views is available for up to 31 days, as seen in a test timeline.
It is possible to retain a period of data indefinitely using a Saved Event (created with the Save button). For more information on Saved Events, see Retaining Data Beyond the 90-Day Limit.
Share Links created with the Share button are preserved indefinitely. Share Links created with the API Snapshot endpoint will expire after 30 days.
Data for the Reports feature is available for 93 days. Report Snapshots (created with the Snapshots button) are preserved indefinitely.
Data for the Alerts feature is available for 90 days, using the Alert History tab.
Endpoint data is available for up to 90 days via reports and dashboards, and for 30 days via the API.
The API retains Cloud and Enterprise Agent data for 90 days, with the exception of the following data types which are retained for 30 days:
Page Load data
detailed Web Transaction data (page-level and step-level detail)
detailed Path Visualization data (per-hop data)
Endpoint Agent data
ThousandEyes trial accounts are limited in duration to 14 days. When the 14-day period ends, all tests stop running and all users, while still being able to log in, are limited to read-only operations. Test data from trial accounts is available for 14 days, and then expired on a rolling basis. Data for the Reports feature is available for 31 days, and then expired on a rolling basis.
ThousandEyes maintains an audit history (accessible via the Activity Log). Data is retained for two years, and expired on a rolling basis.
An organization's current data retention policy is applied to test results data when the data is uploaded into the platform. This means that data that has been uploaded during a trial period (trial accounts have a 14/31-day data retention span; see above) will not have its retention policy adjusted to 31/93 days when a trial account is converted into a paid account. On the other hand, the data that is uploaded into the platform after the conversion to a paid account has already happened will be retained for the contracted amount of time (31/91 days; see above).