For the complete documentation index, see llms.txt. This page is also available as Markdown.

ThousandEyes User Session Timeouts and Terminations

ThousandEyes application can be accessed by navigating to https://app.thousandeyes.com/ using your preferred web browser. To enter the application, authentication is required and a successful login event creates an active browser session. For security reasons, active browser sessions are automatically terminated after a period of inactivity or due to certain administrative events. This article explains various scenarios that lead to the termination of the browser session.

How Many Concurrent Browser Sessions Can a User Have?

There is no limit on the number of concurrent browser sessions.

When Does a User's Browser Session Time Out?

The browser session times out after 30 minutes of inactivity.

However, there is an exception. The 30-minute session timeout does not apply when the user has any of the following screens open in their browser:

The views listed above implement automatic content refreshing that happens every 5 minutes. These content refresh events also reset the session timeout timer, preventing an inactive user's browser session from timing out.

NOTE: The automatic session prolongation described above requires the Keep session alive on auto-update permission for the user. This permission is not for built-in roles and must be explicitly enabled on a custom role(or a role duplicated from a built-in role). See Session management and Role-Based Access Control, explained for more details.

What Are the Scenarios for Immediate Termination of an Active User Session?

An active user session is immediately terminated in the following cases:

  • The user has two (or more) browser sessions active and they reset their password in one of the sessions. The session in which password reset event occurred is unaffected, but all other user's active sessions are terminated.

  • Changes get applied to user's permissions/roles (by an admin user) or account's contract while the user is actively using the application.

  • User's organization becomes locked while the user is actively using the application.

How Session Continuity Works

For security reasons, ThousandEyes no longer provides a Keep me logged in option on the login page.

The ThousandEyes platform now manages session continuity through its authentication and session management behavior. See Logging In for the latest login behavior.

The following articles provide related information:

  • Role-Based Access Control Explained provides details about the ThousandEyes application permission system.

  • Views article describes general user-facing functionality and pinpoints where particular views can be found.

Last updated