What is an Account Group?
The account group is a feature used to divide an organization into different sections. There are many reasons to divide an organization to reflect the internal structure of an organization and provide different levels of visibility into the account resources such as tests, agents and alerts.
Where to Find the Account Groups
The existing account groups are listed under the Account Groups screen within Manage > Account Settings > Users and Roles.
To add a new account group, see Add a New Account Group.

The Account Groups screen is not visible to users without the View all account groups settings permission.
Each account group in the list can be expanded to view and edit its details, such as name, assigned Enterprise Agents and account group token. The Enterprise Agents drop-down is used to select or view which agents are shared with the current account group.
Account Group Token
The account group token is an alphanumeric string used to bind an Enterprise Agent to a specific account group.
When installing an Enterprise Agent, you need the account group token for the desired default account group. After installation, you can share the agent with other account groups so it can run their tests.
You can retrieve the account group token from the Account Groups screen in Manage > Account Settings > Users and Roles:
Select the Account Groups tab.
To see the Account Groups tab, you must have the Organization Admin role or a role with the View all account groups settings permission. For more information on roles and permissions, see Role-Based Access, Explained.
In the list of account groups, expand the account group whose token you need.
In the Edit Account Group dialog, select the eye icon to show the token.

You can also find the account group token on Network & App Synthetics > Agent Settings when you add a new Enterprise Agent. To view the token, you must have a role with the Edit agents in account group permission. For steps, see Working with Agent Settings.
Keep your account group token secure, like a password. Anyone with the token can affect how your organization uses ThousandEyes resources.
User Assignment to Account Groups
A user can belong to one or multiple account groups, and can be assigned different roles in each of them. This is configured by expanding the specific user in the Users screen in Manage > Account Groups > Users and Roles:

NOTE: The Users screen is not visible to users without the necessary permissions - the View all users permission is required.
For information about switching between account groups, see Switching Account Groups.
Login Account Group
For users who belong to multiple account groups, you can set the account group you log into from the Profile screen within Manage > Account Settings > Users and Roles. See Menus Reflecting New Organizations and Account Groups for how to do so. Without intervention, the login account group defaults to the first organization and account group you signed up to.
Some users who move from using an expired trial account to a prepaid account may find upon the switch that they cannot log in as they are locked out from their account group. This is due to the login account group being set to the expired trial account, which is now locked. You will receive an error message and a request to contact ThousandEyes Support. You must open a support case with us to get your login account group changed to the new prepaid account group.
Related Information
Role-Based Access Control, Explained illustrates the role-based security model used in the ThousandEyes app.
Working with Agent Settings explains how to retrieve the account group token when adding a new Enterprise Agent.
Last updated