Configure Scheduled Tests

ThousandEyes users can create HTTP server tests and agent-to-server tests that run without user interaction at regularly scheduled intervals for as long as the Endpoint Agent is online, providing data from remote employees and smaller branch offices.

This article includes instructions for creating, modifying, and deleting scheduled tests, as well as reference information for the various configurable test settings.

Prerequisites

Endpoint tests require that the ThousandEyes Endpoint Agent software version is 0.96 or later. Versions prior to 0.96 will not be able to run scheduled tests. The users must have the required permissions to create tests. See [permissions]. Create the required Endpoint Agent labels. See [Endpoint Agent Labels].

Create a Scheduled Test

To create a scheduled test:

  1. Click the Add New Test button.

  2. Define the type of test. See Guide to ThousandEyes Test Types for information on the two available test types.

  3. Configure the basic settings for the test. See Endpoint Test Settings Reference for summaries of each option.

  4. Optional: Configure the advanced settings. See Endpoint Test Settings Reference for summaries of each option.

  5. Optional: Click the Show Details link and open the Add Labels drop-down list to add any test labels.

  6. Click Run Once to run an instant test, click Add New Test to save the test, or click Cancel to discard the changes.

When scheduled tests are assigned to execution slots, they are prioritized as follow:

  1. Tests which target specific machines

  2. Tests which target specific labels

  3. All agents

Manage Existing Scheduled Tests

The Endpoint Agents > Test Settings > Endpoint Tests tab displays a table of all existing Endpoint Agent tests:

The table shows the test name, test labels, test type, target URL/IP address, when the test was last modified, the number of agents assigned to the test in the last 24 hours, and whether the test is currently enabled or not.

Enable / Disable Scheduled Tests

To enable or disable an existing test:

  1. Click the Enabled toggle switch to set the test to either enabled (blue) or disabled (dark gray).

If the toggle is grayed out, the test has no labels assigned it that match any available agents, and cannot be enabled. Update the agents to run the test in order to enable it.

Configure an Existing Test

To configure an existing test:

  1. From the Endpoint Agents > Test Settings > Endpoint Tests tab, identify the test that should be configured, either by scrolling down the list, searching for the test with the search function, or using the available filters to focus the list of tests shown.

  2. Click the relevant row in the table to open the side panel.

  3. Configure the Endpoint Agent test as desired. See Endpoint Test Settings Reference for summaries of each option.

  4. Click Run Once to run an instant test, click Save Test to save the changes, or click Cancel to discard the changes.

Duplicate an Existing Test

To create a duplicate of an existing label:

  1. From the Endpoint Agents > Test Settings > Endpoint Tests tab, identify the test that should be configured, either by scrolling down the list, searching for the test with the search function, or using the available filters to focus the list of tests shown.

  2. Click the three dots icon at the end of the test row.

  3. Click Duplicate. The test configuration side panel will open with the duplicated test settings already configured.

  4. Make any changes to the duplicate test as necessary. See Endpoint Test Settings Reference for summaries of each option.

  5. Click Run Once to run an instant test, click Add New Test to save the test, or click Cancel to discard the changes.

Delete an Existing Test

To delete an existing Endpoint Agent test:

  1. From the Endpoint Agents > Test Settings > Endpoint Tests tab, identify the test that should be configured, either by scrolling down the list, searching for the test with the search function, or using the available filters to focus the list of tests shown.

  2. Click the three dots icon at the end of the test row.

  3. Click Delete.

  4. Click Delete to confirm the change, or cancel to revert.